New Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn has finalised appointments to his frontbench, completing a six-strong shadow energy and climate change team with several influential MPs.

MP for Wigan Lisa Nandy was named shadow energy secretary earlier this week and she will be joined at shadow DECC by Alan Whitehead, Barry Gardiner and Clive Lewis.

Southampton Test MP Alan Whitehead is a familiar name to the energy industry, having worked on energy policy for the Labour party for a number of years. He also sits on the energy and climate change select committee and has been a vocal critic of the Conservative Party’s assault on renewables since May’s general election.

Whitehead is joined by fellow experienced MP Barry Gardner, who has been the MP for Brent North for 18 years. Gardiner also brings substantial experience in energy and environmental policy to the team having held junior ministerial roles at the now defunct Department for Productivity, Energy and Industry and Defra.

Former journalist Clive Lewis – identified as a rising star by figures within the Labour Party – has also been rewarded for his loyalty to Corbyn by being granted a frontbench role within the shadow energy and climate change team. Lewis was one of 36 Labour MPs to nominate Corbyn for the leadership position after being elected as MP for Norwich South in May.

The team will be bolstered by Baroness Worthington and Lord Grantchester. Baroness Worthington is a particularly strong influence having worked as the lead author on the landmark 2008 Climate Change act, while Lord Grantchester will combine his role at shadow DECC with one at shadow Defra.