Tim Yeo, MP for South Suffolk, has been named as the first ever President of the Renewable Energy Association (REA). Yeo joins the Association after serving in Government positions in trade and industry, transport, the environment and agriculture. He is also the current Chair of the Energy and Climate Change Select Committee.

“I am delighted to be invited to be the first ever President of the Renewable Energy Association. Britain will only be able to meet its greenhouse gas emission reduction goals with a substantial contribution from low-carbon renewable energy,” Yeo explained.

“Renewables can also help to improve both the independence and the security of Britain’s energy supplies. The work of the Renewable Energy Association is very important in this respect and I much look forward to working closely with the Association.”

The REA has also welcomed Martin Wright as the new Chair of the Board of Directors, taking over from Andrew MacLellan. Martin is also currently involved in marine renewables and energy storage.

“I am delighted to take on this role. Renewables undoubtedly form a vital part of the strategic future of energy in the UK, and remain the only means of power generation that can reduce dependence on imports and the inevitable price volatility that such dependence entails,” Wright said.

“Harnessing the UK’s own sources of clean, cheap and everlasting renewable energy is good for jobs, the balance of payments and maintaining our energy security. However, we have our work cut out, in the current economic climate, to mobilise the necessary investment, and to get the positive message out to the media.”

Commenting on the news Gaynor Hartnell, the REA’s Chief Executive, said: “Tim will provide the board with invaluable advice on championing renewables in these challenging times, and Martin’s interests on innovation, cost reduction and making renewables more relevant to the business community will help set our agenda.

“Martin and I, along with other directors of the board, are very much looking forward to working with Tim and we look forward him presiding over future functions, including our Gala Awards dinner in June.”