The Solar Power Portal Awards 2017 is now less than two weeks away and the shortlisted entrants have all been publicised.

Nearly 60 nominations have been shortlisted across the 12 public categories, the winners from which will be announced during the gala dinner ceremony at the Hilton Metropole Birmingham on Wednesday 4 October 2017. 

The occasion, always one of the highlights of the UK solar calendar, will this year be hosted by TV personality and renowned renewables advocate Robert Llewellyn.

As we countdown to the ceremony, Solar Power Portal is to shine the spotlight on this year’s shortlisted nominations, and today we look at the Commercial Rooftop PV category, sponsored by JA Solar.

The shortlisted entries are;

  • Hart Leisure Centre – Photon
  • National College for High-Speed Rail – Photon
  • DPD Oldbury – EvoEnergy
  • Edinburgh Solar Co-op – Emtec Energy
  • Gloucester Cathedral – Mypower
  • ProDrive – Joju Solar

Mypower certainly caught attention – and national headlines – when it completed a rooftop solar installation atop Gloucester Cathedral earlier this year. The solar installer helped the 1,000-year old cathedral see – and make full use of – the light by fitting 38.25kWp of solar on the nave roof. 

The works fell under Project Pilgrim; a £6 million renovation scheme several years in the making. Following the works Gloucester Cathedral is the oldest Grade I-listed building in the world to benefit from solar.

The install was covered far and wide, but will it be enough to be awarded this year’s crown? Or will another of the six projects shortlisted in an extremely competitive category clinch it? All will be revealed on 4 October 2017.


Tickets for the ceremony are available to purchase now, and include full access to the pre-ceremony drinks reception, black tie gala dinner, awards ceremony and evening entertainment. Tickets and table packages can be purchased online here or by contacting Sue Bradshaw.

Sponsorship opportunities are also available and include a VIP table for the evening. If you are interested in sponsoring a category at this year’s award, please contact Sue Bradshaw