The Solar Power Portal Awards 2017 is now just a matter of weeks away and the shortlisted entrants have all been publicised.

Nearly 60 nominations have been shortlisted across the 12 public categories, the winners from which will be announced during the gala dinner ceremony at the Hilton Metropole Birmingham on Wednesday 4 October 2017. 

The occasion, always one of the highlights of the UK solar calendar, will this year be hosted by TV personality and renowned renewables advocate Robert Llewellyn.

As we countdown to the ceremony, Solar Power Portal is to shine the spotlight on this year’s shortlisted nominations, and today we look at the Utility-scale Storage Project category.

The shortlisted entries are;

  • Co-located energy storage systems at 10 UK solar farms – Anesco
  • Big Battery in Barrow – Centrica
  • Grid-connected Tesla Powerpack – Camborne, Poweri Services

Camborne and Poweri Services caused quite the stir in October last year when the two said they had connected Europe’s first Tesla Powerpack, connecting it to a 500kW solar farm in Somerset. 

Financed and developed by Camborne, with Poweri serving as the electrical contractor, the facility is now managed by Open Energi to deliver Firm Frequency Response (FFR) services to National Grid. It was designed specifically to maximise the headroom of a connection to SSEPD’s 11kV network from the solar farm, while simultaneously helping to balance the grid when required.

Will this landmark project’s credentials be enough to see it rewarded, or will one of the other also impressive installations trump it? All will be revealed on 4 October 2017.


Tickets for the ceremony are available to purchase now, and include full access to the pre-ceremony drinks reception, black tie gala dinner, awards ceremony and evening entertainment. Tickets and table packages can be purchased online here or by contacting Sue Bradshaw.

Sponsorship opportunities are also available and include a VIP table for the evening. If you are interested in sponsoring a category at this year’s award, please contact Sue Bradshaw