Solar Power Portal is delighted to reveal the shortlists for the Solar Power Portal and Energy-Storage.News Awards 2018.

Following a month-long judging process, SPP can reveal the 67 entries that make up the shortlists for the 15 categories that make up this year’s awards.

Those lucky enough to win will, as ever, be crowned at our prestigious awards gala dinner ceremony, organised this year to take place at the Hilton Metropole NEC on the evening of Wednesday 17 October 2018.

Our guest host for the evening is TV personality and design expert George Clarke.

Tickets and tables are now available to be purchased here, or by emailing Sue Bradshaw

For more information on the awards, including our independent judging panel, ticket pricing and how to purchase, please visit our dedicated micro-site.  

The shortlists are as follows;


The ‘Best in Show’ Solar Design Award, sponsored by MyEnergi

  • St Michael’s Hospice, Hereford – Solarkinetics
  • Bentley Solar Carport – Flexisolar
  • Wellington Place – Watt Energy Saver
  • Hobmoor Terrace, York – The Phoenix Works
  • Oat Errish Farm – EvoEnergy


Residential Rooftop Solar Installation of the Year

  • Roborough Eco Town – Photon Energy
  • Oat Errish Farm – EvoEnergy/GB Sol
  • The Chasse, Topsham – SunGift Energy
  • Hobmoor Terrace – The Phoenix Works


Commercial Rooftop Solar Installation of the Year, sponsored

by JA Solar

  • Port of Immingham – Custom Solar
  • BBC Wales New Broadcast HQ – Dulas
  • Guernsey Electricity – The Little Green Energy Company
  • Great St. Mary’s Church, Cambridge – Cambridge Solar
  • White Rose and Trinity Shopping Centres, Leeds – EvoEnergy
  • Doncaster Rovers Keepmoat Stadium – Eden Sustainable
  • University of Sussex Retrofit – SAS Energy


Community Solar Installation of the Year, sponsored by British Solar Renewables

  • Cletwr Café, Wales – Cambridge Solar
  • Tamar Energy Community/Tesco – SunGift Energy
  • The Sustainable City – City Solar AE
  • Off-Grid, Community-Owned Distributed Generation Systems in East Sumba – PROINSO


Ground-mount Solar Installation of the Year

  • Dunore, Northern Ireland – Greencells
  • Cranfield University Airfield – RenEnergy
  • Netley South – Ethical Power
  • Tilesdown House – The Solar Electrician


International PV Installation of the Year

  • Golmud 100MW using Bifacial Modules – Huanghe Hydropower Development (with Trina Solar, JA Solar, Lerri Solar, Solargiga Energy, XiAn Solar)
  • SuiXi 40MW Floating Solar Project – Trina Solar
  • Maharashtra Solar Farm – Lightsource BP
  • Kambadur Project – Downing LLP
  • Spier Wine Estate, South Africa – RenEnergy
  • Technaf Solartech 28MW Project, Bangladesh – PROINSO, Joules Power Limited


O&M Provider of the Year, sponsored by Fronius

  • BSR O&M
  • RES
  • RenEnergy


Residential Storage Project of the Year

  • Connect & Manage – WPD
  • Project ERIC – Moixa
  • National Energy Action/North Devon Homes – SunGift Energy
  • Grainbank – Solo Energy


C&I Storage Project of the Year

  • Lyreco – EvoEnergy
  • IMP’s Electricity Cost Neutral Building – Kingspan Energy
  • Shell UK Low Carbon Petro Stations – Emtec Energy
  • Plessey 2MW Behind the Meter Battery – Kiwi Power, Amber Infrastructure


Utility-scale Storage Project of the Year

  • Glassenbury Battery Park – Low Carbon
  • Pilsworth Landfill Liquid Air Energy Storage Plant – Highview Power
  • Pelham Battery Storage – SMA


International Storage Project of the Year

  • Areza Maidma Hybrid Mini Grid – Solarcentury
  • Wuxi Singapore Industrial Park Smart Distribution Grid – Narada
  • St. Eustatius Hybrid System – SMA
  • Arizona Public Service – Fluence
  • Emergency Energy Storage Units for Kera Charity, Sri Lanka – Stortera



Storage Business Model Innovation of the Year

  • The Olde House, Local Energy Marketplace Cornwall – redT, Centrica
  • Limejump Virtual Power Plant – Limejump
  • Anesco’s Storage Revenue Modelling – Anesco
  • Flexitricity+ – Flexitricity


Transaction of the Year, sponsored by Envirotech Energy Solutions

  • SunnySide-1 Canadian Solar UK Portfolio Sale – Canadian Solar
  • Lightsource and BP partnership – Lightsource BP
  • Octopus 522MW Solar Portfolio Refinancing – Octopus Energy


Product Innovation of the Year, sponsored by Trina Solar

  • Q.Cells Q.Flat-G5 Module – Hanwha Q Cells
  • SolarEdge’s EV Charging Single Phase Inverter – SolarEdge
  • Smart Energy Management System and Control Platform – IMP
  • SunSniffer Digital Twin – SunSniffer
  • The IQ7 Microinverter – Enphase Energy
  • Kaco Reactive Power Only Inverter – Kaco New Energy
  • The eMIG 2.0 Platform – PAD Technology
  • NeON R Series Module – LG
  • 50kW-120kW Inverters with Synergy Technology – SolarEdge


Contractor of the Year, sponsored by CCL Components

  • Solarsense UK
  • SAS Energy
  • Joju Solar
  • SunGift Energy
  • EvoEnergy
  • Custom Solar