Further proving its commitment to renewable energy, the UK has applied for membership with the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA).

IRENA was founded in 2009 in Bonn, Germany, by 75 States which signed its Statute. To date, the membership of IRENA comprises 155 States and the European Union (EU), out of which 86 States and the EU have ratified the Statute.

The intergovernmental organisation, dedicated to renewable energy, aims to “promote the widespread and increased adoption and the sustainable use of all forms of renewable energy”.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland deposited its instrument of ratification on April 10 this year and, pursuant to Article XIX.E of the Statute, is in the 30-day waiting period before becoming a fully-fledged member.